Natural Selection

Natural_Selection medium

Call me a madman but hear me carefully
My journal could be the only written history
No buried secrets will rise up in the future
Only the simple truth: we, as human race, have failed

1st December 2035.

A rising diplomat from the middle east got assassinated during a peace convention summit. Governments around the globe condemned the shameless act, but the heat rose everywhere, riots started on every street, in every country. Panics and accusations filled the media. More heat. More panic.You could hear the words- Judgement Day, the end, world war- in every corner of each house.

I was in Switzerland by the time the first nuclear bomb was dropped in east Asia. Governments planned to use their nuclear power secretly – they couldn’t have made it more synchronized – and they destroyed earth as we knew it. We destroyed it. One species did that.
I had enough time to reach an anti-nuke bunker in order to be safe, along with Twelve other strangers. Unfortunately we discovered later that the rest of the bunkers didn’t hold up. Probably they had a painless death; lucky them. We had some food reserve, which meant hunger and slow death; unlucky us.

One month had passed when we voted that we should leave our soon-to-become grave, we hoped there might be a place left unbombed, a place where we can find food since we were running low on supply; perhaps it wasn’t as bad as we thought it would be.
Personally, I wasn’t afraid of dying. I had seen so much death to a degree that I expected mine at any moment, and after a while I stopped caring; what kind of life would it be living in panic or fear. I wanted to leave the bunker more than anyone else.

Day one.

We were stunned by the view we saw when we emerged from our shelter. It was like a bolt from the blue, except it had nothing bluish about it. Into the disgraceful scene we staggered. We roamed aimlessly over the surface of a colorless earth, uninspiring and lifeless.

We had agreed that we should strive for the mountains and avoid the cities, for they were gray and smoky even from a very long distance. We resolved every decision though a vote procedure to avoid any clashes or confrontations. I liked the essence of this idea, to vote. Although, I daresay, voting got our species into this desolated state if one wants to look at it from a different angle.

We took shelter from the cold in a rocky runner when the night spread its wings wide. We couldn’t find wood to make fire which was bad news to some of us. Nighttime passed without disturbance unlike the morning when a woman’s scream, Sandy, shook the sleep out of me. Apparently, one of us didn’t make it through the night. It was Sandy’s father, Richard, the eldest among us.

Day two.

Even though we had to savor our energy, we buried him decently and said prayers. A baby idea shifted somewhere deep in my head about using his corpse as bait to attract animals or predators but I buried that thought deeper than the grave.

We left our small camp at noon since we were tired from the digging and we traveled west. We marched at a snail’s pace over small cliffs to avoid a steep mountain which blessed us later with rolling hills that made our parade easier. We breathed relief. Sandy was too down and wretched to even notice our predicament.

Many hours had passed when we arrived to a very old bridge made of big rocks, and there was still no sign of neither animal nor human life. We set up camp right before the bridge for I have suggested that there’s a higher probability to encounter other survivors if we stayed near that location because it seemed as a main road, and it was about to be nightfall. I slept the moment we finished dinner made of dried food; I needed to be strong.

Jo’, a british physicist woke me up to my guarding shift around midnight. I saw the moon for the first time since the war started, it didn’t have its glow neither its modest orange color. The moon looked like a phony one and I blamed our polluted atmosphere for it. Nothing happened during the night but the crucial silence. Jo’ woke me up the next day with a rush and by the look in his eyes I knew that something had happened. Sandy was nowhere to be found.

Day three.

At first, we considered that Sandy had gone back to her father’s grave, but Roberto, a cypriot surgeon, suggested that we form a search perimeter, just in case. We were divided into four groups, three survivors each, and every group scouted a side. My group went south. After an hour of no luck we headed back to the bridge as we agreed. The group who went west didn’t come back by the concurred time and we got worried. We decided to go after them when anxiety crossed its limits, but we hadn’t advanced a lot when we met with the lost group, Roberto had a saddened look on his face.

“So?” Jo’ asked with a slight exhalation.

Roberto gave a placid glance at his companions then turned toward us and said “you should see it”. We followed them quietly as they hiked to the west, we were heading to that direction anyway. It didn’t take long when we arrived at our destined location. Sandy had trapped herself into a reckless state where there’s no way out of it. There she was, hanged from a tree by her belt, her hands and feet dangling free.
“It’s weird to what places despair takes us” Roberto said while shaking his head. “And before anyone thinks of it, she did it to herself, there are no signs of a struggle”. We were all eased by hearing these words because the last thing we needed was a loose killer.

I stepped towards Sandy’s corpse and said “someone help me out to bring her down, we shouldn’t leave her like this. So inappropriate.” I sensed the rise of a quarrel among the others, one of them, Lilliane – a blonde chemist doctor from Finland- said”we shouldn’t waste our time…” but I cut her before she finish her sentence and said “Can you really live with it if you were capable?” I added an obvious smirk. She blushed faintly with a sense of sorrow. She looked sweeter than ever.

We continued our parade after we said our prayers, and we made camp next to the foot of a huge rock when the sun set. I decided to save my share of food till morning because it’s better to have breakfast than dinner, also because I was too tired to eat, even talk which I kind of regretted since Lilliane had chosen to lie down next to me. I started imagining the sound of her heart pounding and the shape of her breasts pressing against the ground by the time I fell into a profound sleep until my guarding shift, then I stayed awake till sunrise.

Day four.

As strange as it sounds, we started our hike that morning with good spirits, some of the men joked every now and then, the women laughed their heart out. I noted it as a sign of a feverish hysteria, maniac-depressive syndrome, a sort of panic when you acknowledge your fate and when you start losing hope. I laughed too over some of the jokes.
Lilliane walked close to me but we only chatted a little since I was paying attention to my body’s strength and my surroundings. I kept an eye on the position of the sun to make sure whether we’re heading in the right direction – not that we knew that west is the right one, mind you – but the vote had been cast already. We took a break every two hours since we didn’t know how much time it will take us to find any sign of life.
Our last stop was next to a fresh stream where we refilled our water supply where the ladies decided to wash up -and bath- even though the water was too cold. Ironically they staled the water seeing that they were somehow dirty after four days of hiking and sleeping in nature. As for the rest of us, peeking at them – Lilliane – naked, was a type of diversion to our miserable condition, a kind of alleviation, like finding a delicious fruit inside a thorn bush which you fell into. I gazed at the sun as it set behind an enormous mountain and I realized that it’s going to get very dark soon by the look of the clouds. Shockingly, there were no woods around us, which made the men alarmed and the ladies nervous. We had no choice but to manage without a fire and without a big rock to cover ourselves from the shivery wind. I suggested to form a square and raise some blankets using our hiking sticks which each one has made at the beginning of our hike. They all agreed. One hour passed when I noticed that Lilliane had lied so close to me that I couldn’t move to the right without touching her. God! she smells nice, I thought. I was able to feel her body shaking from the cold but I couldn’t see her face. The idea of putting my arm around her to warm her up brought a smile to my face. And since my turn to guard was on the last shift, I considered of warming myself till that time. I turned to my right confidently and embraced her carefully without saying a word, she drew herself closer and I was able to hear her taking a deep breath and puffing the air out enjoyably. My smile grew a little wider; we both fell asleep shortly.

Day five.

I woke up all by myself before dawn, Lilliane hadn’t moved by a single inch. I pulled my left arm little by little until I got free, I rose to my feet and stretched which made me conscious of the extreme cold that had surfaced my back during the night. A petrifying idea circled in my head but I couldn’t make a grasp on it, so I dismissed any further mental effort and walked slowly to the other two guards. One of them, Ricardo the second physicist, was half asleep and Jo’ was making a tour around our site to keep an eye from animals or other survivors. I was able to notice that both of them were quivering from the cold and that raised the sympathy in my soul. I whispered to them both and told them that “you can both rest now, and don’t wake anyone else, I’ll manage by myself.” They both nodded in gratitude and slept among the others. I decided to pass the time till dawn by taking a steady stroll just like Jo’, perhaps it will warm me up a fairly.

By the time the sun had singled itself in the sky I was sitting exhausted next to Lilliane. Everyone started to wake up and shake the cold out of their body, except for Lindy and Cathy, two redhead sisters. Roberto made haste towards them and tried to wake Cathy first, we all had bad feelings when there was no movement from her. Roberto flipped Cathy on her back and we all saw that her eyes were opened and her skin was pale.
“Hypothermia” said Kevin, a doctor from the states, who was checking Lindy, he flipped her on her back and we saw the same palish color, but her eyes were closed. We were all stunned by the scene, and to my surprise, I found myself embracing Lilliane without consciousness. She was sobbing weakly, I heard her saying “it could have been me”, a small pause, “we shouldn’t have swam yesterday in the cold water”. I hugged her tightly to make her feel more secured and safe, her head leaned toward my chin and I was able to feel her hair stroking my neck, I was somehow aroused even though it was still cold but the contact of our bodies inflamed us both. Few seconds passed when Lilliane turned toward me and said “I survived the night because of what you did. You saved me. Thank you” and she kissed me, not for a short moment neither for a long one. Just enough time to implicate that there’s going to be more kissing in the future. She must be a psycho, I noted.

We buried them both and said our prayers, and we trotted all along to west around noon, there wasn’t a lot we could do but to keep moving. After two hours we reached a big forest which we somehow hesitated to enter but we needed trees to shade us from the backstabbing wind, also we would find timber for the fire. Holding Lilliane’s hand, I took the lead. There was something magical about that forest; the more I looked deeply in it the more I saw the trees shining of an untold horizon. I have seen many forests before that looked like a pleasant gift furnished by our Mother Nature, a place of tranquility. This one had nothing gratifying about it. Its trees stretched as far as I could see, the smell was earthy as ever. I was able to see moss growing on some trees wherever the light had pierced through. I fumbled through the idea of enjoying its serenity I couldn’t, something was terribly wrong; Birds, I thought.

Right before dark, we walked to a large tree with a big trunk where we decided to make camp. Some of us chose to collect wood to make fire, I was the first to volunteer. Lilliane preferred to stay and rest, I made no sign of rebel or even interest.
The night was filled with quietness which I hated because it wasn’t the silence that calms people down, more like a heavy void. Someone woke me up after midnight to take my turn in guarding, I didn’t pay attention who it was.

Day six.

The first thing I did that morning was pulling my arm from beneath Lilliane’s head. I was struck by the idea of how I didn’t notice the numbness in my limb until I pulled it away, then I smiled at my own self intellectual contradiction.
“Where is Kevin?” I asked a bit loudly when I saw them all but him. They all sounded dumbstruck by the fact that no one noticed his disappearance.
“I remember him telling me something about ‘Nature Call’ as he put it” said Martin, a french geologist. I nodded with comprehension and relaxation, and as I was turning toward Lilliane, Martin said with a bit of hesitation “but that was during the night”. We were all startled by his last words. I hurried to him and held him by his shoulders tenderly but persistent because I didn’t want to be aggressive, and said “to which direction did he go to?”
Martin seemed pretty confused and said “I don’t know. I was half asleep that I thought I was dreaming”. I looked deeply into his eyes and I believed him. Some of us tried searching for him but it was helpless. Jo’ walked next to me on our way back to the large tree. He said “I heard him speaking that day, that being on his own could be better”, I shot a stern glance at him then looked in front of me. He continued talking “I also found some of our reserved food missing, but keep that between us, we don’t want the rest to feel more desperate than they already are, do we?” and as he was about to finish his sentence I made a graph to his arm, yet he somehow slipped but I held him painfully and pulled him from the pit that he was about to fall into. We both stared for a moment into the pit, at the bottom was Kevin, motionless. A bag of food next to him.
“That says much about being better on his own, doesn’t it?” I said. Jo’ was still looking at Kevin in shock when I turned and walked away to inform the others; I wouldn’t blame him for he was about to join Kevin in face, if it weren’t for me. “Thanks by the way” he yelled from behind. “Don’t mention it” I replied. I didn’t like to brag about things, also the last person I saved gave me an intimate kiss.

I broke the news to the others, and I saw their collapse. I reminded them that it was his choice and that we had to find provision as soon as possible since we were very low on supply. We ate our breakfast and continued our walk through the forest.
Few hours later we steered in the direction of some rocky hills, there was a mountain nearby which we couldn’t see from the forest because of the high elevating trees. I looked at the sky and I noticed there were some grey clouds forming a big single one. “It’s going to rain tonight” I muttered to myself then I turned towards the rest and told them that we have to find a shelter, Lilliane was right behind me and we had only talked a bit since the day before, she looked at me and smiled in a way as if there was something else on her mind to understand. I knew what it was.
We headed to the mountain and found that its foot was formed of small separated caves, with enough space for three or four persons each. We decided to make camp there for the night. Every group prepared a small fire in its own area, we had already supplied ourselves with wood from the forest. Lilliane and I managed to take a cave located a bit higher from the rest, a bit more private per se. We all agreed that every group should guard its own cave.

I created a small pit for the fire using a dozen stones and by the time the storm broke out, Lilliane and I had our own fire. We stood at the cave’s portal for half an hour hugging each other and contemplating the view outside. It was a pitch black scene interrupted by severe lightening and thunders as if we were an audience watching the maddened nature on a stage. The sky was sparkling yet impassioned, an unstable web of energy but a fair one. The storm was so close that I could hear the rain beating down the rocks around us fiercely and I noticed a stream of water running around the caves; we are safe, I took notice.

Lilliane grabbed my hand as I was tripping into the glorious act and pulled me back to where she had fixed a mattress from blankets and clothes. I didn’t even try to suspect her intentions as we stepped closer; it seemed like another theatrical scene where a beautiful queen lulls a poor farmer into her lair. I decided to make some changes, I drew my hand and lied down on my back in lightened spirit. Damn it feels comfy, I thought, and I smiled voraciously. She put my legs between hers and sat slowly on my thighs, then she shuffled herself until she was above my crotch. She leaned towards me, her face over mine, her blonde hair covering us both like raw silk over steel. I grabbed her by her neck and pulled her closer and we kissed.

Outside, the thunder cheered.

We both worked dynamically to fling off her clothing’s, she held both of my hands and pulled them close to cup her breasts.

Outside, the thunder boomed.

She made a lustful smile as I fondled her breast and flicked her nipples. I lifted her smoothly and flipped us both so I was leaning over her. I removed my jacket, then my shirt, I pulled her pants and mine and kicked them away. Her breasts had parted each to a side, she made a lascivious sigh as I bent forward and kissed her, her hands were already clasping through my hair. As I was consuming her lips and devouring her throat and neck, I had my right hand between her thighs, and my fingers nudging her flower.
A flashing lightening showed my shadow concealing her nakedness. I held my cock and I entered her.

Outside, the thunder rumbled.

I took her up and flipped us both again, I clenched to her boobs and she dug her fingers in my chest trying to steady herself as I rammed her.
In the past, they used to speak of a thing about being quintessential to life; I laughed at them because my present had only one notion – divine pleasure, emphasized by the humongous storm outside – the muscles of her thighs got tight and fluttering. We got on with it till she came. Her scream was shielded by the deafening thunders.
Her motion slowed down for a moment but she regained energy and began bouncing vibrantly. The act was about to finish and I knew it; I felt it.
The lightening struck mightily, followed by a roaring thunder, and as I was intensely absorbing the furious tempest outside and the tireless Lilliane inside, I came.

Day seven.

By the time Lilliane was awake I was sitting at the cave’s entrance contemplating what the storm had caused. The smell was fresh and pristine, the silence was engulfing and beating, but it didn’t reflect the damaged arena neither its ruined background. The land was damp and the trees were devastated and enslaved. Mother Nature had fostered its own property loss.
Thankfully the sky was clear and the sun beaming with a promised warmth. I called everyone by their name to make sure they had made it through the night. I knew they were all safe after few shared shouts and laughter. We packed our bags and started descending towards the flat land. I held Lilliane’s hand the moment I realized that the rocks were slippery, she made a small giggle. And as I was about to flirt with her about her smile, I heard stone shattering, a sharp yell followed by a vital slam. I turned sideways and saw the trail that Ricardo had left behind him as he slipped and fell over the rocks and shattered his skull. There was a big spot of blood over the stone where his head had laid unmoving. I told Lilliane to stay in her position before rushing towards Ricardo. I checked his pulse but he was already gone. We continued our hike that day with a grieving mood that erased what warmness the sun had brought to us. We took a break around noon next to a natural crossroad, one path leading into a forest and the other towards the blackened cities. We voted for the safest path, the woodland. As we trod next to a river that stretched extensively I noticed that the forest was full of undamaged pine trees. We reached a small waterfall surrounded by rocky mountains. “We have to climb” I spoke loudly. Kamal, the arabian professor, gave me a cross-examined look and said “why do we ‘Have’ to?” Everyone stared at me doubtfully. I didn’t blame them for their questioning, we were all tired but I erased their brief lack of trust in my judgement by saying “it’s better to gain a higher ground so we can see at least where we’re heading”.

I was the first one to climb and they followed by turn after I threw them a rope that I had in my bag. As I was pulling the other I noticed some movement between the bushes that led to the waterfall, “make it fast” I yelled. Jo’ was next to me and helping me in pulling Mathilde, a french professor in sociology. He saw some shadows moving and he screamed in panic “there is something behind you”. The moment he finished his sentence we heard the breaking of some branches then the noises. The noises became more intense and out of the bushes a pack of wolves lurched forward, there was at least five of them, and the first one leaped on Martin who was the closest. In a panic ambience, Kamal raced to the rocks and started climbing, Roberto was too petrified and he stood still for a moment, and when he absorbed the terrifying situation he turned around heading towards the rocks, he tripped himself by his own bag that he had disposed previously to rest while the others were making the climb. One of the wolves, the bigger one, the blackest, some would call him The Alpha, surged after him and bit his legs. Roberto made a loud cry, and we were able to hear him wailing as two other wolves joined The Alpha and chew on him. I wanted to do something to help them, perhaps throwing some stones at the wolves to scare them away but my hands were busy in pulling Mathilde. Jo’ was frozen by the unfair slaughter that was happening beneath us. By the time Kamal had made it to the top, Martin and Roberto were dead and their corpses dragged back to the bushes unseen.
We had no choice but to make haste and find a shelter from the danger that we just encountered. We were not alone, I made a horrifying note in my head since I had hoped to meet less deadly signs of life. Now there’s a new factor to consider.
We found a spot over a tall flat rock to spend the night, we had no cover from the wind but we had to make pertinent sacrifices to stay alive.

Jo’, Kamal and I divided the guarding shifts between us because the ladies were worn out. When I finished my turn around midnight, I lied down next to Lilliane and discovered that she was still awake. She was excited and wanted to have sex but I pushed her hand aside each time she tried touching me. Now don’t get me wrong, I was aroused already but my survival instinct had governed my alerted conscious, besides that, we were all next to each other and it wouldn’t be appropriate. The bashful night passed without any incident.

Day eight.

We spent the next morning examining our path before hitting it. There was no sign of the wolves, but I knew that our new craving attackers are good at hunting, they would find another way to get to the highlands and track us down very soon. We had to move fast but the other survivors voted to take our time and make sure it’s safe to ascend the rock.
We hiked through another pine forest in a fast pace, I was in the lead. We paused for a small lunch break around noon which gave me enough time to collect my breath since I was helping everyone whenever we found an obstacle to overcome.

As I was taking a piss over the edge of a rock, I saw an escalating white smoke far ahead in the forest, which raised my spirits in me because that meant other survivors. I broke the wonderful news to the others. After a vote we swiftly climbed down and headed towards the smoke’s direction.. By looking at its distance I realized that we won’t make it before midnight which wasn’t good at all. Kamal took the lead and he had sprinted through the timberland, I wouldn’t blame him for the rush; we were hunting down the heartening smoke, and probably the wolves were hunting us down. By dusk, everyone was exhausted to keep moving, so they decided to take a break. I didn’t like the sound of stopping because my grandpa once told me during his hunting lessons that the wolves are most active during this time of the day. Kamal was massaging Mathilde and showing off how he survived the wolves earlier, she was enjoying it.
After a quick assessment of our situation I told Kamal “Sorry for interrupting you two, but we shouldn’t waste more time. We should get going”. I tried to sound persistent. Jo’ and Lilliane backed up my approach. “Yes. Yes. We will move in a bit” Kamal replied, then he whispered something in Mathilde’s ear and they both laughed daringly. I didn’t get bothered because I understood our human nature somehow; his sexual desires and schemes blinded his survival instinct, most men find that refreshing during monstrous times.

But understanding something doesn’t mean approving it, I grabbed Lilliane’s shoulders, she was about to fall asleep while sitting. I helped her up and shook the fatigue out of her. “Follow us whenever you feel like to, we’re going that way” I spoke to Kamal piercingly while pointing towards a path between the trees.
As I made my fourth step, I heard a turbulence from the trees behind us. I knew what was coming. I was ready. Then flashing movements emerged around us. The wolves had made a circle and trapped us. I was frozen in my position trying not to make a sound to avoid bringing attention to us. We heard a growl very close to Kamal and Mathilde which literally changed their skin color from blushing red to white as snow.

The Alpha wolf derived from the shadows with his shining teeth and his creepy eyes and leaped on Kamal, the other wolves flowed towards Mathilde. I instinctively nudged Lilliane and Jo’ and I helped them climb a tree each because running away in the darkness wouldn’t do much help to us. We spent around an hour watching the terrifying pack chewing the mushy muscles and the bloody veins out of the two bodies, their jaws crushing their bones and their gory dripping teeth sinking into what was left of raw meat. The clouds covered the sky after another half an hour and cleared away what glow was left from the moonlight. We were captured by the void of the night from above and the howl of the wolves from below. We spent the next hour in utter silence among the rest of us. Probably they fell asleep because I could hear Jo’s snoring. Suddenly, in a whispering tone, Lilliane asked “Hey, are you still awake?”, I said yes, then she said that she wanted to move to my tree. At first, I thought that she was joking then I heard motions from her direction. “The hell are you doing?” I spoke in revolt, “are you out of your mind?” I tried to yell but it came out as a mutter. “I can move over the branches towards your tree” she replied. I didn’t need to ask her why she was doing that because I knew the reason. She wanted to engage into a new divine pleasing act, and her determination stirred me excitedly. But this was no time for desire quenching. “Stay where you are. There will be other times” I begged her, but I kept hearing motion sounds from her tree. All of a sudden I heard a crack, a short scream then a critical impact.

Jo’ and I spent another hour of meat chewing and bones crushing sounds.
She was a blonde after all, I made a small note in my head.

Day nine.

The sun rose over the mountain earlier that morning, and to my astonishment I had slept for at least two hours during the second part of the night. I called Jo’ and woke him up. He had tied himself with the tree using his belt to avoid falling while sleeping; smart one. We checked our surrounding and we found no trace of the wolves except the trails of blackened blood on the ground, they had a feast the night before and now they are probably lazy to hunt or eat. Probably.

Jo’ and I agreed that it’s safe to climb down and collect whatever we find and ditch every item which we won’t need or might slow us down. We had no food supplies, few drops of fresh water, and a pack of wolves somewhere in the region that will get hungry soon; we had to find a way out of this predicament.
We bolted through the forest and headed to the mountain that was located to the west, ignoring the white smoke that we had seen the day before since we couldn’t catch a sight of it anymore. We reached its foot around noon and we found a big cave that we had to climb around thirty feet to get to it. There were many big rocks inside the cave which made me wonder how they got there.

“So, now what?” Jo’ asked, “ we found a shelter but we have no food, and we can’t search for anything as long as the wolves are on our back” he continued. I ignored his despair and said nothing. I moved towards the rocks and checked their mobility. I had a grim mood around but I was smiling.
“What are you going to do?” Jo’ asked with a slight of fumbling between his words. “Kill The Alpha” I said while pulling a sharp military knife from my bag.

We positioned three big rocks right on the edge of the cave. I climbed down before dusk and gathered some wood and placed it in form of piles as a path that leads beneath the rocks. I told Jo’ of my suspicious plan and that timing should be flawless throughout. He threw me a rope and tied its end somewhere very fixed up in the cave, then he hid himself behind a rock of my choice. As the night was falling, I had lit the piles of wood, tied the other end of the rope to my waist in a way that I hung in the air like pendant. My feet hung around 3 feet from the ground. I pulled out my knife and made a moderate cut in my left palm; and we waited. By the time the fire was about to burn out, I was getting cold but I regained my posture shortly; the smell of my blood would definitely attract the wolves. Not before long the fire was consumed and a big grey cloud masked the moon. There was nothing to see but everything to hear. Without any warnings, I heard some footsteps ten feet in front of me, then a growl followed, then other footsteps followed somewhere behind. I was not able to see anything and I thought that what I did was foolish, until the grey cloud uncovered the moon and I saw The Alpha’s flashy eyes and his gleaming fangs. I made a battle cry, waved my bloodied hand to his direction and sprayed some blood on his face. His gnarl grew more intense. I screamed to Jo’ “Number ONE” and told him to be ready. I started climbing sideway to my right, then I turned around so my back was facing the open space, then I took hold with my bloody hand and I held the knife with my right hand. The Alpha followed my direction, planning his attack, I thought, he better be because I had already planned mine. I made another cry and moved closer to the wall on my left. “One more step” I muttered, then another cry. The Alpha made another step closer to the wall and to me.
“Now” I yelled. Jo’ pushed rock number one. The Alpha somehow felt the danger of a 100 kg rock falling on him, he leaped forward to avoid it with his head turned upside looking at it, but by that time I had already dived towards him. We met midway in the air, and I drove my big knife somewhere between his neck and his jaws. A fatal strike.

Day ten.

We faced no problems during our hike the next day, the wolves had scattered away when I killed their Alpha and they were probably deciding who’s going to lead them and keep them alive. I saw some relief over Jo’s face as we went over some easy slopes, yet there was the issue of the food deficiency still hanging. In the afternoon, we reached a rocky edge that towered over a green field and we had to wait till morning to ascend because we were a bit tired. I let Jo’ take the first shift in guarding, I helped him prepare the fire and told him how to keep it burning while saving up as much of the wood, then I slept peacefully.

He woke me up around midnight and we switched turns. Jo’ started snoring after half an hour, I considered that he has fallen asleep already. I waited for another half an hour, stood up slowly, took a deep breath and sneaked behind sleepy Jo’. I pulled a small syringe from beneath my sleeve, I crouched carefully, stuck it into his neck and pulled it fast without him flinching, just like I did with Richard, Sandy, Lindy, Cathy, Kevin and many others before. I remembered grandpa saying “Practice makes perfect”. I smiled.
I used to remember these words after finishing a job, a paid contract, an assassination. Small favors for each government, each side for their own humane dark ambitions, and I decided to show how much dark things might turn into and I started doing personal jobs, one politician here, one scientist there, another rising star somewhere else. At first, I enjoyed rocking the boat a bit and study the reaction of a society and its media, it’s whole culture, then I became committed to it. I just didn’t anticipate that one of my successful jobs would cause a nuclear world war, all I have to do now is live up to the consequences.

Day eleven.

I woke up at sunrise and climbed down to the fields. I found a small hut that contained dried fruits. Finally something to eat. I searched around the place and found nothing. I gathered my strength and headed west. There must be other places, I thought, where I might find provisions.

After two years.

I’m on an island that contains a balanced and unharmed animal life. But it’s been for a while I’m feeling feverish and fatigue although I’m not doing much effort and I’m eating well. I thought first that it’s because of sitting in the sun for a long time since I wasn’t used to it, but later on my muscles started to ache and my joints started to hurt. It was getting harder every day, and I didn’t like the sound of it. After a while, I stopped thinking about it not because of anything in specific but because of severe headaches. I was sick and I knew it. Something was wrong but I couldn’t figure it out until one day I noticed some rashes over my skin and I started vomiting along with excess of diarrhea. “Fucking hell” I mumbled while looking at the horizon. I had calculated and worked it out, what I’m having is aids symptoms. “She had it and she didn’t say a word” I spit the words like poison but I started coughing afterwards. I admired the irony of my fate then I laughed like a drain.

Three years later.

I’m in great shape and hunting fish because my body couldn’t digest and assimilate most of the animals on that island, which turned out the reason of my previous affliction and suffering.

Leave a Reply

